LibGuides: Templeton Middle School Library: World War I

History Reference Center--Badgerlink

Modern World History Online

Video Tutorial

Kids Discover

KidsDiscover

SIRS Discoverer

World Book Online

World Book Online

Explora--Badgerlink

Badgerlink

Remote Access-

Go to Badgerlink
Right column > login
School > Sussex, Hamilton School District
Your barcode is "hamilton"
OR "hsd" followed by your student id # example- hsd123456

What is Badgerlink?

Badgerlink Home Access

WWI Soldiers of France

France Artilleryman

France Colonel of Rifles

France Engineer Corporal

France General

France Infantryman

France Staff Officer

France Infantryman 3

Marshal of France

France Mountain Rifleman

France Staff Officer

France Tank Officer

France Waggon Driver

WWI Soldiers of Great Britain

2nd Lieutenant

Brigadier General 2

Brigadier General

Company Sergeant Major

Field Marshal

Highlander

Highland NCO

Highland Officer

Infantryman

Infantryman 2

Infantry Officer

Lieutenant Colonel

Medical Orderly

Observer

Observer Officer

Pilot Officer

Private Soldier

Ration Carrier

WWI Soldiers of Russia

Cossack

Cossack Officer

Cossack Officer 2

Cossack Officer 3

General Staff Officer

Guards N.C.O.

Guards Officer

Infantryman

Infantry Officer

Infantry Officer 2

Major General

The Tsar

WWI Soldiers of Austria Hungary

Austria Dragoon

Cavalry Officer

Cavalry Pioneer

Officer Cadet

Officer Cadet 2

Pioneer

Rifleman

Lancer Officer

Lancer Officer 2

WWI Soldiers of Germany

A.D.C.

Artilleryman

Field Marshal

Field Marshal 2

Guardsman

Infantryman 2

Infantryman 3

Kaiser

Landsturm Lancer Officer

Landsturm Man

Landwehr NCO

Trumpet Major

WWI Soldiers of America

Brigadier General

General

Ground Crewman

Infantryman

Infantryman 2

Infantryman NCO

Pilot Officer

Pilot Officer 2

Staff Officer

WWI Online Resources

The National WWI Museum and Memorial WWI Timeline
This interactive timeline features pictures, quotes, and videos documenting the war from an American point of view. Particular attention is paid to social issues such as rationing, suffrage, prohibition, revolts, and forced deportation.
American Battle Monuments Commission WWI Timeline
This interactive visual timeline includes events from 1914-1918 as well as context to better understand the pre-war buildup and post-war consequences of the Great War. The default map view is elegant and visually appealing, but the chart view should not be ignored. Using overlapping bars it presents the chronology of the war in a way that makes it easy to understand the relative duration of events. Additionally, this timeline includes videos of period footage, and focuses predominately on military history.
Oxford English Dictionary WWI Timeline
This timeline allows you to explore 100 words and quotations from the Oxford English Dictionary that illustrate World War One from 1914-1918. Such interesting entries as 'cooties' and 'Trench Coats' show the enduring effect of World War One today. Use the left and right arrows to scroll through the timeline or zoom in using the magnifying glass at the top right. You can also drag the timeline flags from right to left to browse.
Timeline of WWI Greatwar.co.uk
This detailed timeline lists, to the day, the events of the war including diplomatic and political developments more commonly omitted. To make this easier to traverse, reference dates are provided which connect event entries which span a period of time.
The History Place WWI
A timeline of World War I that includes events dating back to 1871 as possible contributing factors to WWI.
Timeline of WWI from the BBC
The First World War was the first truly global conflict – the battle raged not just in the trenches of the Western Front but in Africa, the Middle East and Asia. Huge armies deployed new weapons to devastating effect. Over nine million soldiers and an unknown number of civilians lost their lives. Empires crumbled, revolution engulfed Russia, and America rose to become a dominant world power.
WWI and America
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History timeline of WWI.
American Battle Monuments Commission WWI Timeline
This interactive visual timeline includes events from 1914-1918 as well as context to better understand the pre-war buildup and post-war consequences of the Great War. The default map view is elegant and visually appealing, but the chart view should not be ignored. Using overlapping bars it presents the chronology of the war in a way that makes it easy to understand the relative duration of events. Additionally, this timeline includes videos of period footage, and focuses predominately on military history.
The History Place WWI
A timeline of World War I that includes events dating back to 1871 as possible contributing factors to WWI.

Library of Congress WWI in Pictures The Library of Congress Prints & Photograph Division (P&P) has more than 76,000 pictures relating to World War I, in a wide array of formats, including photographic prints and negatives, cartoons, ephemera, posters and drawings. Most of the material was created during the war (1914-1918), but a portion deals with post-war topics such as injured veterans, pension distribution, and the aftermath in European cities.
National Archives WWI in Pictures
WWI Draft Cards National Archives
American Leaders Speak on WWI
WWI Poetry Archive The First World War Poetry Digital Archive is an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research. The heart of the archive consists of collections of highly valued primary material from major poets of the period, including Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, Robert Graves, Vera Brittain, and Edward Thomas.
National WWI Museum and Memorial
Library of Congress WWI
Pre-WWI Documents
Germany and WWI EuroDocs
WWI Gilder Lehrman Institute

WWI Declarations of War--Chronicling America Library of Congress A month after the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand and his wife Sophie, on July 28, 1914, the Austro-Hungarian government declares war on Serbia. Immediately, and within a period of six days, European countries declare war upon one another. Known as the Great War at the time, the conflict became the most destructive and widespread the world had ever seen. Read more about it!
The New York Times--WWI News about World War I (1914-18), including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
WWI Document Archive
Eyewitness to History WWI

Female Yeomen during WWI Women in today's military answer their country's call in all services and ranks. Until World War I, however, the military establishment did not officially accommodate women who wished to serve. Some women had to dress like men to fight in the field, and others risked their lives as frontline nurses, but these brave women were not recognized by the military.
National Women's History Museum WWI World War I was the first war in which American women were recruited to serve in the military. Women were already present in France as members of the American Red Cross and as canteen workers, but for the most part, French and Belgian women staffed American military offices. In October 1917 the new American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) telephone system was put in place, but the American soldiers and the French women working as telephone operators were unable to communicate. The need for bilingual telephone operators precipitated the recruitment of American women.
Female Spies of WWI
Hello Girls
‘Hello Girls’ of World War I Quest for Veteran Recognition
Hello Girls' Kept World War I Communications Humming

Library of Congress WWI Posters This collection makes available online approximately 1,900 posters created between 1914 and 1920. Most relate directly to the war, but some German posters date from the post-war period and illustrate events such as the rise of Bolshevism and Communism, the 1919 General Assembly election and various plebiscites. During World War I, the impact of the poster as a means of communication was greater than at any other time during history. The ability of posters to inspire, inform, and persuade combined with vibrant design trends in many of the participating countries to produce thousands of interesting visual works. The majority of the posters were printed in the United States. Posters from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, the Netherlands, and Russia are included as well.
Propaganda: The British Library
BBC-How was propaganda used in WWI?

Innovations from WWI Libguide

Innovations from WWI Era

Templeton Middle School Library: World War I

History Reference Center--Badgerlink

Modern World History Online

Kids Discover

SIRS Discoverer

World Book Online

Explora--Badgerlink

Badgerlink

WWI Soldiers of France

WWI Soldiers of Great Britain

WWI Soldiers of Russia

WWI Soldiers of Austria Hungary

WWI Soldiers of Germany

WWI Soldiers of America

WWI Online Resources

Innovations from WWI Libguide

More WWI Websites