Skip to Main Content

Silver Spring Intermediate School Library: Databases

SSIS Databases

If the direct links below do not work, please click HERE to access the user name and password for each database.

Research Rocket

Use Research Rocket to find articles that will support research. You can research by topic within Research Rocket. Magazines can also be browsed and read. 

World Book Encyclopedia

Online Encyclopedia to share basic information about topics. 

FactCite

FactCite shares facts and articles about different topics. Articles range in general information to more recent topics. 

Kids Discover

Kids Discover has texts, videos and interactive activities on a variety of topics. This is a good database to learn about topics. 

Encyclopedia Britannica-Badgerlink

Thinkalong

A database that shares differing opinions on current topics. 

Culturegrams

CultureGrams shares information about locations around the world. The information includes statistics, cultural information, and a country profile. 

TrueFlix

Topics are shared on TrueFlix specifically related to science and social studies. Topics are covered to share general information. 

NoveList K-8--Badgerlink

Great resources to find new titles that are related to other books. Search for a book that you have read to find information about it and books that are similar. 

Waukesha Freeman

The Waukesha Freeman is a newspaper that is published in Waukesha that focuses on local news. 

SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer has recent topics that would support research. This database shares both sides of issues. 

Explora

Explora is a database resources that can be used for research. It shares articles on a variety of topics. 

Online Dictionary and Thesaurus

Britannica School Atlas

World map that can be zoomed in to see areas around the world. 

Badgerlink

Remote Access-

  • Go to Badgerlink
  • Right column > login
  • School > Sussex, Hamilton School District
  • Your barcode is "hamilton"
  • OR "hsd" followed by your student id #  example- hsd123456‚Äč

 

What is Badgerlink?

Use this help page to access Badger Link resources. 

Brainpop

BrainPop is a useful tool for learning the basics about a topic. 

Learn360

Learn 360 is a database that is helpful for general information about topics. 

Generation Genius

Generation Genius

 

 

 

Lessons and videos for Math and Science. 

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States

Primary resources that share about the struggle for freedom and justice. 

TeachingBooks.net--Badgerlink

A resource that shares about books. The database includes author interviews, interactive activities, book trailers, discussion prompts, and other resources.