Skip to Main Content

Maple Avenue Library: Japan



Japan consists of four largislands, Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu. There are an additional 7,000 islands. When you combine the land area of all of these islands, Japan is about the size of Germany.  The modern day capital of Japan is Tokyo, located on the island of Honshu and Japan's largest city with a  population of 8 million. Japan has 47 prefectures which are equivalent to our states.

Only in Japan Educational Videos

Japanese Snow Moneys

People Pushers - Shinjuku Station

Japan Internet Links

Japan - Library Books

Matsuhen Samba

29 Things That Only Exisit in Japan

Only in Japan - Educational Videos

Japanese Music Traditions