Skip to Main Content

WHAM - World History and Modern Affairs: Revolutions

Revolutions and Independence Movements

  • The Mexican Revolution (1910-1917)

  • The Russian Revolution (1917 - 1923)

  • African Independence Movements (1920s-1930s)

  • The Chinese Revolution (1949)

  • The Cuban Revolution (1956 - 1959)

  • The Iranian Revolution (1978 - 1979)

  • The Nicaraguan Revolution (1979)

  • The Arab Spring (2011 - Present )

    • Libya (2011)

    • Egypt (2011)

    • Syria (2011 - Present)

Revolution Project

Research it!

 

Mexican Revolution (1910 - 1917)

Mexican Revolution   source: Encylopedia Britannica (click on this link first before choosing Mexican Revolution)

Mexican Revolution    source: Gale High School  (Lexile 1360)

Mexican Revolution    source : Gale High School  (Lexile 1300)

The Mexican revolution   source: Gale High School  (Lexile 1140)

Intervention! The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917    source: Gale High School

Russian Revolution (1917 - 1923)

Russian Revolution    source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link first before choosing Russian Revolution)

The Russian Revolution: 1917      source: Gale Global Issues (Lexile 1240) 

Russian Revolution    source: Gale Global Issues (Lexile 1000) 

Russian Revolution       source: Gale World History  (Lexile 1120)

Cuban Revolution (1956 - 1959)

Cuban Revolution     source: Britannica website

Cuban Revolution     source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link first before choosing Cuban Revolution)

Fidel Castro      source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link first before choosing Cuban Revolution)

Cuban Revolution       source: Gale World History  (Lexile 1290)

Cuban Revolution       source: Gale World History  (Lexile 1380)

Video Segments

Cuban Revolution      source: Learn360  (08:12)

Cuban Revolution      source: Learn360  (03:12)

October 25th, 1959 (live footage)   source: Academic Video Online  (1 min)

Chinese Revolution (1949)

Chinese Civil War       source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link first before choosing Chinese Civil War)

Chinese Civil War    source: EBSCO Explora

Chinese Communist Revolution     source: Gale High School  (Lexile 1120)

Iranian Revolution (1978 - 1979)

Iranian Revolution     source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link first before choosing Iranian Revolution)

Iranian Revolution      source: Gale High School   (Lexile 1230)

Iranian Revolution 1978-1979     source: Gale High School  (Lexile 1190)

Iranian Revolution 1978- 1979 (Historic World Events)     source: Gale High School (Lexile 1280)

The Iranian Revolution: January 1978–February 1979     source: Gale High School  (Lexile 1290)

Nicaraguan Revolution (1979)

Nicaragua: Snapshot of a Revolution        source: EBSCO Explora

Sandinista       source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link before opening Sandinista)

Arab Spring (2011 -Present)

Arab Spring         source: Encyclopedia Britannica    (click on this link before opening Arab Spring)

People Rise Up in the Middle East During the Arab Spring     source: Gale High School

15: The Arab Spring: 2011   source: Gale High School

Egypt Uprising of 2011    source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link before opening Egypt Uprising)

Syrian Civil War      source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link before opening Syrian Civil War )

Lybia Revolt of 2011     source: Encyclopedia Britannica  (click on this link before opening Lybia Revolt)