Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maple Avenue Library: Japan



Japan consists of four largislands, Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu. There are an additional 7,000 islands. When you combine the land area of all of these islands, Japan is about the size of Germany.  The modern day capital of Japan is Tokyo, located on the island of Honshu and Japan's largest city with a  population of 8 million. Japan has 47 prefectures which are equivalent to our states.

Only in Japan Educational videos

Japan Internet Links

Japan - Library Books

Japan Educational Videos

Only in Japan - Playlist