Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teacher Resources

Hamilton High School - Databases

RESOURCE DESCRIPTION WHERE TO FIND IT

Bloom's Literature

Contains reference essays and literary criticism examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history from a wide range of scholarly and critical sources. Database Tab

CultureGrams

Primary source of cultural & statistical Country Reports, US States and Canadian Provinces, includes recipes Database Tab

Gale Health and Wellness

Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles

Resource Guide

Database Tab

Best-selling digital magazines from top publishers.

Read via your tablet, Chromebook or computer

Login -  hamiltonhs    password- Hschool@20

We subscribe to :

  • The Atlantic
  • Discover
  • National Wildlife
  • The New Yorker
  • Popular Science
  • Scientific American Mind
  • The Week
  • Wired 

Ask Jacque about subscribing to other titles!

Flipster Tutorial (2:24)

Flipster app for Apple Devices  (3:23)

Database Tab

Streaming multimedia resource- access to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

Reading Activities located in the Games/Activities widget. Audiobooks are located in the Audio widget.

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

Examples of Videos:

  • Many resources on Steinbeck and Of Mice and Men
  • Many novels
  • Poetry
  • Creative Writing 
  • Shakespeare
  • Many more!
Database Tab

ProQuest Learning Literature

Offers more than 350,000 primary works of prose, poetry and drama matched with an intuitive interface for faster searches and an essential library of reference works. ProQuest Learning: Literature includes Author Pages that bring all available resources about an author together onto one screen—biographical information, criticism, reviews, multimedia and a link to the full-text literary works. Database Tab

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Explore All Sides of an Issue

Premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

 

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles

 

Resources

Database Tab

SIRS Issues Researcher

Explore All Sides of an Issue

Provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues.

Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues.

Critical Thinking and Information Literacy skills are promoted through engaging Essential Questions and supporting viewpoint articles. 

 

  • Business & Economic
  • Civil Rights & Liberties
  • Communication & Technology
  • Crime & Punishment
  • Drugs, Health & Wellness
  • Environment & Science
  • Ethics
  • School, Family & Youth
  • World Cultures & Politics

 

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles
Database Tab

Reference eBooks 

Critical Insights:

  • The American Dream
  • Good and Evil
  • The Hero’s Quest
  • War
  • Coming of Age
  • Contemporary Speculative Fiction
  • Dystopia
  • Nature and the Environment
  • Southern Gothic Literature
  • American Sports Fiction
  • Technology and Humanity

Literary Context: Plays, English Literature, World Literature

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.

Sora - eBooks and audiobooks

Can be used via an app with your phone/tablet OR you can read or listen right on your Chromebook. Students and Staff have access to thousands of eBooks and audiobooks.

Access with your school Google account.

Ask Jacque to request a title!

Books and Online Reading Tab

Click the Google waffle and scroll to pg 3

World Book Encyclopedia

General research 

Includes Literature Timelines for Authors & Poets, American Literature, English Literature, Drama and more.

Database Tab

ALSO AVAILABLE FOR AP & CRAW CLASSES:

  Provided by Wisconsin DPI

Remote Access-

  • Go to Badgerlink
  • Right column > login
  • School > Sussex, Hamilton School District
  • Your barcode is "hamilton"
  • OR "hsd" followed by your student id #  example- hsd123456‚Äč

What is Badgerlink?  (1:48)


      Research Tool and Citations

Login with Google

 

RESOURCE DESCRIPTION WHERE TO FIND IT

Gale Health and Wellness

Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles

Resource Guide

Database Tab

eBooks

  • Addiction & Substance Abuse
  • Adolescent Health & Wellness
  • Infectious Diseases & Conditions
  • Magill's Medical Guide
  • Psychology & Behavioral Health

 

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.

 

Database Tab

      Research Tool and Citations

Login with Google

RESOURCE DESCRIPTION

WHERE TO FIND IT

Streaming multimedia resourceaccess to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

 

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

Database Tab
     

 

MATH LINKS TO EXTEND LEARNING

Middle Grade Math through AP Courses


    Virtual Nerd

Video lessons - Middle Grades Math through Algebra 2


  GeoGebra

Tools for Graphing, Geometry, and 3D


Graphing calculator, Scientific calculator and Geometry tool


  • Algebra
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Calculus and Analysis
  • Discrete Mathematics
  • Foundations of Mathematics
  • Geometry
RESOURCE DESCRIPTION WHERE TO FIND IT

Best-selling digital magazines from top publishers.

Read via your tablet, Chromebook or computer

Login -  hamiltonhs    password- Hschool@20

We subscribe to :

  • The Atlantic
  • Discover
  • National Wildlife
  • The New Yorker
  • Popular Science
  • Scientific American Mind
  • The Week
  • Wired 

Ask Jacque about subscribing to other titles!

Flipster Tutorial (2:24)

Flipster app for Apple Devices  (3:23)

Database Tab

Gale Health and Wellness

Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles

Resource Guide

Database Tab

Streaming multimedia resourceaccess to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

 

Examples of Available Videos:

  • STEM Videos
  • Biology
  • Chemisty
  • Physics
  • Anatomy
  • and many more!
Database Tab

Opposing Viewpoints

Explore All Sides of an Issue

Premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles

 

Resources

Database Tab

Reference eBooks 

  • Climate Change
  • Global Resources
  • Global Warming
  • Environmental Issues
  • Forensic Science
  • Space

Principles of:

  • Biology
  • Biotechnology
  • Chemistry
  • Physical Science
  • Physics
  • Programming & Coding
  • Sustainability
Database Tab

SIRS Issues Researcher

Explore All Sides of an Issue

Provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues.

Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues.

Critical Thinking and Information Literacy skills are promoted through engaging Essential Questions and supporting viewpoint articles. 

  • Drugs, Health & Wellness
  • Environment
  • Ethics
  • Science
  • School, Family & Youth

 

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles
Database Tab

undefined   

Provided by Badgerlink

Magazines and Journals. Covers Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Space Science, Environmental Science, Health and Medicine, History of Science, Life Science, Mathematics, Physics, Science and Society, Science as Inquiry, Scientists, and Wildlife 

Science Reference Center - linked via Badgerlink  Provided by Wisconsin DPI.

Remote Access-

  • Go to Badgerlink
  • Right column > login
  • School > Sussex, Hamilton School District
  • Your barcode is "hamilton"
  • OR "hsd" followed by your student id #  example- hsd123456
Database Tab

undefined

GreenFILE

Provided by Badgerlink

Articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment

GreenFile linked via Badgerlink  Provided by Wisconsin DPI.

Remote Access-

  • Go to Badgerlink
  • Right column > login
  • School > Sussex, Hamilton School District
  • Your barcode is "hamilton"
  • OR "hsd" followed by your student id #  example- hsd123456
 
     

      Research Tool and Citations

Login with Google

RESOURCE DESCRIPTION WHERE TO FIND IT

CultureGrams

Primary source of cultural & statistical

  • Country Reports
  • US States
  • Canadian Provinces
Database Tab

Best-selling digital magazines from top publishers.

Read via your tablet, Chromebook or computer

Login -  hamiltonhs    password- Hschool@20

We subscribe to :

  • The Atlantic
  • Discover
  • National Wildlife
  • The New Yorker
  • Popular Science
  • Scientific American Mind
  • The Week
  • Wired 

Ask Jacque about subscribing to other titles!

Flipster Tutorial (2:24)

Flipster app for Apple Devices  (3:23)

Database Tab

Gale eBooks

  • Civil War Era and Reconstruction
  • Guilded Age and Progressive Era
  • Jazz Age
  • Great Depression and New Deal

Link articles to your Google Site.

Database Tab
Primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day Database Tab

Streaming multimedia resourceaccess to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

Access more than 164,000 media resources on any Internet-enabled device with a wealth of videos, interactives, printables, audio content, and maps and flags.

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

Database Tab

Modern World History Online

Primary and secondary sources covering world history from mid-15th century to the present.

Documents, articles, timelines, videos and maps.

Database Tab

Opposing Viewpoints

Explore All Sides of an Issue

Premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.

Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

 

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles

 

 

Resources

Database Tab

Reference eBooks

  • Countries, People & Culture
  • Pandemics
  • Decades
  • Defining Documents in American History
  • Defining Documents in World History
     
  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
Database Tab

SIRS Issue Researcher

Explore All Sides of an Issue

Provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues.

Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues.

Critical Thinking and Information Literacy skills are promoted through engaging Essential Questions and supporting viewpoint articles. 

  • Business & Economic
  • Civil Rights & Liberties
  • Communication & Technology
  • Crime & Punishment
  • Drugs, Health & Wellness
  • Environment & Science
  • Ethics
  • School, Family & Youth
  • World Cultures & Politics

 

  • Students can download articles to Google Drive or Google Classroom
  • Teachers can download articles to Google Drive, Google Classroom or link to Google Sites.
  • Provides critical thinking questions for many articles
Database Tab

World Book Encyclopedia

General research 

Includes timelines of World History, Disasters, and War & Conflict

Database Tab
     
     

      Research Tool and Citations

Login with Google

 

 

RESOURCE DESCRIPTION WHERE TO FIND IT

All Languages.

Primary source of cultural & statistical Country Reports, US States and Canadian Provinces, includes recipes

Database Tab

Streaming multimedia resourceaccess to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

Access more than 164,000 media resources on any Internet-enabled device with a wealth of videos, interactives, printables, audio content, and maps and flags.

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

 

Examples of Available Videos:

  • History of Spain
  • Life in Spain
  • War in Spain
  • Modern Day Germany
  • History of Germany
  • France the Country
  • History of France
  • and many, many more!

 

Database Tab

World Book: Spanish Encyclopedia

Spanish-language database contains videos, compare-and-contrast features, and a visual dictionary.  Database Tab
     

      Research Tool and Citations

Login with Google

RESOURCE DESCRIPTION WHERE TO FIND IT

Streaming multimedia resourceaccess to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

Examples of Available Videos:

  • STEM Videos
  • Math in Construction and Manufacturing
  • Careers in Engineering
  • Engineering History
  • many more!

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

Database Tab