Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teacher Resources

Templeton Middle School Databases and Online Resources

Resource Description Location

Sora - eBooks and audiobooks

Can be used via an app with your phone/tablet OR you can read or listen right on your Chromebook. Students have access to thousands of eBooks and audiobooks.

Access with your school Google account.

Click on the Google Waffle. Scroll down to Sora App.

Video Directions

Kids Discover Online

Over 2000 nonfiction articles on a wide variety of social studies and science topics. Articles can be read at three different Lexile levels. A "read-to" feature, dictionary, and word translator are also included.  Visuals, interactives, quizzes, and teacher lesson plans are also included. 

Google Classroom Integration: No. Instead, copy and paste the URL of an article into a new assignment in Google Classroom or Seesaw. Be sure to include the username and password above as students will likely need it unless they open the link from the library page first.

Username and password: Click HERE

Teacher Resources: https://www.kidsdiscover.com/teacherresources/

Click on Lesson Plans, Infographics, or Quick Reads

 

TMS Databases Tab

or direct link

https://online.kidsdiscover.com/templetonms

Learn360

Streaming multimedia resource- access to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.Reading Activities located in the Games/Activities widget. Audiobooks are located in the Audio widget.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

BrainPop

Over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

How to Integrate BrainPop and Google Classroom  (1:30)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

SIRS Discoverer

A multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources. The collection includes vetted educational websites.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

World Book Online 

An online encyclopedia database that contains thousands of informational articles with illustrations, videos, interactive maps, research help, and activities. Articles have a "read to" feature and can be translated into several different languages.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations. 

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

Scholastic Go

Scholastic GO! database offers endless resources for research in a multitude of media. Explore nonfiction texts, world newspapers, videos and more from a variety of subject areas.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes, but you will likely need to include the username and password in the assignment directions.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

TMS Databases Tab

CultureGrams

CultureGrams is a database that provides individual country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces, are written and reviewed by in-country experts. Additional features include a worldwide photo gallery, slideshows, video clips, famous people collection, Faces of the World interviews and a unique recipe collection that offers five homegrown recipes from all countries in the database. Plus, sortable (create-your-own) data tables help put dozens of facts into perspective.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes, but use direct link with username and password below.  http://online.culturegrams.com/

Username and password: Click HERE

 

TMS Databases Tab

Modern World History Online

Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.  Search by keyword or browse by region or historical era.

Students can save articles to their Google Drive.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes. Teachers can share articles and videos on Google Classroom. Click "Share", then "Share To", and click on the Google Classroom icon.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

TMS Databases Tab

History Study Center

History Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. History Study Center covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. Study Units offer editorially selected material on over 500 historical topics.

Google Classroom Integration: No  But click on "Durable URL" to share the article/video link with students.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

Free Resources

undefined Free access to magazine, newspapaer, and scholarly articles, as well as videos, images, and music.

Username: Sussex-Hamilton School District     Password: hamilton

Click on Browse All Resources, then try the following databases:  Book Connections, Explora for Elementary Schools or Explora Educator's Edition, NoveList K-8, TeachingBooks.net, Climate Wisconsin, and more.

 

Resource Description Location

Science Flix

Offering more than 50 complete units of study with over 8,000 science-related assets in a variety of media, ScienceFlix® provides students with a better understanding of science concepts and ideas through hands-on projects, videos, multiple text types, interactive features and more.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes, but you will likely need to give students the username and password in the assignment description.

Username and password: Click HERE

TMS Databases Tab

Kids Discover Online

Over 2000 nonfiction articles on a wide variety of social studies and science topics. Articles can be read at three different Lexile levels. A "read-to" feature, dictionary, and word translator are also included.  Visuals, interactives, quizzes, and teacher lesson plans are also included. 

Google Classroom Integration: No. Instead, copy and paste the URL of an article into a new assignment in Google Classroom or Seesaw. Be sure to include the username and password above as students will likely need it unless they open the link from the library page first.

Username and password: Click HERE

Teacher Resources: https://www.kidsdiscover.com/teacherresources/

Click on Lesson Plans, Infographics, or Quick Reads

 

TMS Databases Tab

or direct link

https://online.kidsdiscover.com/templetonms

Learn360

Streaming multimedia resource- access to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.Reading Activities located in the Games/Activities widget. Audiobooks are located in the Audio widget.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

BrainPop

Over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

How to Integrate BrainPop and Google Classroom  (1:30)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

SIRS Discoverer

A multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources. The collection includes vetted educational websites.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

World Book Online 

An online encyclopedia database that contains thousands of informational articles with illustrations, videos, interactive maps, research help, and activities. Articles have a "read to" feature and can be translated into several different languages.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations. 

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

Scholastic Go

Scholastic GO! database offers endless resources for research in a multitude of media. Explore nonfiction texts, world newspapers, videos and more from a variety of subject areas.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes, but you will likely need to include the username and password in the assignment directions.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

TMS Databases Tab

Sora - eBooks and audiobooks

Can be used via an app with your phone/tablet OR you can read or listen right on your Chromebook. Students have access to thousands of eBooks and audiobooks.

Access with your school Google account.

Click on the Google Waffle. Scroll down to Sora App.

Video Directions

 

MATH LINKS TO EXTEND LEARNING

Middle Grade Math through AP Courses


    Virtual Nerd

Video lessons - Middle Grades Math through Algebra 2


  GeoGebra

Tools for Graphing, Geometry, and 3D


Graphing calculator, Scientific calculator and Geometry tool


  • Algebra
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Calculus and Analysis
  • Discrete Mathematics
  • Foundations of Mathematics
  • Geometry
Resource Description Location

Science Flix

Offering more than 50 complete units of study with over 8,000 science-related assets in a variety of media, ScienceFlix® provides students with a better understanding of science concepts and ideas through hands-on projects, videos, multiple text types, interactive features and more.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes, but you will likely need to give students the username and password in the assignment description.

Username and password: Click HERE

TMS Databases Tab

Kids Discover Online

Over 2000 nonfiction articles on a wide variety of social studies and science topics. Articles can be read at three different Lexile levels. A "read-to" feature, dictionary, and word translator are also included.  Visuals, interactives, quizzes, and teacher lesson plans are also included. 

Google Classroom Integration: No. Instead, copy and paste the URL of an article into a new assignment in Google Classroom or Seesaw. Be sure to include the username and password above as students will likely need it unless they open the link from the library page first.

Username and password: Click HERE

Teacher Resources: https://www.kidsdiscover.com/teacherresources/

Click on Lesson Plans, Infographics, or Quick Reads

 

TMS Databases Tab

https://online.kidsdiscover.com/templetonms

Learn360

Streaming multimedia resource- access to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.Reading Activities located in the Games/Activities widget. Audiobooks are located in the Audio widget.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

BrainPop

Over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

How to Integrate BrainPop and Google Classroom  (1:30)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

SIRS Discoverer

A multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources. The collection includes vetted educational websites.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

World Book Online 

An online encyclopedia database that contains thousands of informational articles with illustrations, videos, interactive maps, research help, and activities. Articles have a "read to" feature and can be translated into several different languages.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations. 

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

Scholastic Go

Scholastic GO! database offers endless resources for research in a multitude of media. Explore nonfiction texts, world newspapers, videos and more from a variety of subject areas.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes, but you will likely need to include the username and password in the assignment directions.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

TMS Databases Tab

CultureGrams

CultureGrams is a database that provides individual country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces, are written and reviewed by in-country experts. Additional features include a worldwide photo gallery, slideshows, video clips, famous people collection, Faces of the World interviews and a unique recipe collection that offers five homegrown recipes from all countries in the database. Plus, sortable (create-your-own) data tables help put dozens of facts into perspective.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes, but you may need direct link: http://online.culturegrams.com/ with the username and password below.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

TMS Databases Tab

Modern World History Online

Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.  Search by keyword or browse by region or historical era.

Students can save articles to their Google Drive.

Google Classroom Integration: Yes

Username and password: Click HERE

 

TMS Databases Tab

History Study Center

History Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. History Study Center covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. Study Units offer editorially selected material on over 500 historical topics.

Google Classroom Integration: No. Use "Durable URL" to share article/video links with students.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

TMS Databases Tab

Sora - eBooks and audiobooks

Can be used via an app with your phone/tablet OR you can read or listen right on your Chromebook. Students have access to thousands of eBooks and audiobooks.

Access with your school Google account.

 

Click on the Google Waffle. Scroll down to Sora App.

Video Directions

 

Free Resources

 

undefined Free access to magazine, newspapaer, and scholarly articles, as well as videos, images, and music.

Username: Sussex-Hamilton School District     Password: hamilton

Click on Browse All Resources, then try the following databases:  Book Connections, Explora for Elementary Schools or Explora Educator's Edition, NoveList K-8, TeachingBooks.net, Climate Wisconsin, and more.