Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teacher Resources

Silver Spring Intermediate School Databases and Online Resources

Resource Description Location

Sora - eBooks and audiobooks

Can be used via an app with your phone/tablet OR you can read or listen right on your Chromebook. Students have access to thousands of eBooks and audiobooks.

Access with your school Google account.

Click on the Google Waffle. Scroll down to Sora App.

Video Directions

Kids Discover Online

Over 2000 nonfiction articles on a wide variety of social studies and science topics. Articles can be read at three different Lexile levels. A "read-to" feature, dictionary, and word translator are also included.  Visuals, interactives, quizzes, and teacher lesson plans are also included. 

Username and passwords: Click HERE

Does not integrate with Google Classroom, but can copy and paste the URL of an article into a new assignment in Google or Seesaw. Be sure to include the username and password above as students will likely need it unless they open the link from the library page first.

Teacher Resources: https://www.kidsdiscover.com/teacherresources/

Click on Lesson Plans, Infographics, or Quick Reads

 

SSIS Databases Tab

or direct link

https://online.kidsdiscover.com/silverspring

Learn360

Streaming multimedia resource- access to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

Reading Activities located in the Games/Activities widget. Audiobooks are located in the Audio widget.

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

For Seesaw, click Share, Embed/Link, Copy link. Paste the link into your assignment in Seesaw. Include the username and password below just in case.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

BrainPop

Over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.

How to Integrate BrainPop and Google Classroom  (1:30)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

SIRS Discoverer

A multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources. The collection includes vetted educational websites.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Teachers can save articles to Google Classroom to create assignments. Click Save to Cloud, then Google Classroom.

For Seesaw, click Save to Cloud, then select Google Drive. Share the link from Google Drive, being sure to set the share settings to "anyone with link can open."

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

World Book Online 

An online encyclopedia database that contains thousands of informational articles with illustrations, videos, interactive maps, research help, and activities. Articles have a "read to" feature and can be translated into several different languages.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Also integrates with Google Classroom for teachers. Within each article, click on the settings wheel at the top, then click Share, Google Classroom. 

For Seesaw, within an article, click on the settings wheel at the top, then select Save, Google Drive. From your Google Drive account, share the link on Seesaw, being sure to adjust share settings to "anyone with link can open."

 

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

FactCite

FactCite is a collection of six databases, including : FactCite 123 (lower level articles on a variety of topics), Biography for Beginners, World Mythology, American History, Science and Technology, and Countries & Cultures. All of the databases can be searched by keyword, or browsed by topic or alphabetical order. Audio read-to is available for all articles.

Integrates with Google Classroom for teachers. Within any article, click on the Google Classroom icon.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

CultureGrams

CultureGrams is a database that provides individual country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces, are written and reviewed by in-country experts. Additional features include a worldwide photo gallery, slideshows, video clips, famous people collection, Faces of the World interviews and a unique recipe collection that offers five homegrown recipes from all countries in the database. Plus, sortable (create-your-own) data tables help put dozens of facts into perspective.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

TrueFlix

The TrueFlix database contains science and social studies content, including dynamic videos, interactive ebooks, and engaging projects ideas and activities! E-books have a "read to" feature.

Integrates with Google Classroom, but username and password will likely be needed and should be included in the assignment directions.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

SSIS Databases Tab

Free Resources

 

For 2020-2021 school year, free access to e-books for grades K-6. Assign books, track reading progress and minutes read. Free student access to books between school hours (6am-3pm). Set up an educator account, then share the class code with your students.

10 Ways to Use Epic for ELA

4 Reading Resources to Use with Students in Distance Education

 

undefined Free access to magazine, newspapaer, and scholarly articles, as well as videos, images, and music.

Username: Sussex-Hamilton School District     Password: hamilton

Click on Browse All Resources, then try the following databases:  Book Connections, Explora for Elementary Schools or Explora Educator's Edition, NoveList K-8, TeachingBooks.net, Climate Wisconsin, and more.

Resource Description Location
Generation Genius Company Profile: Valuation & Investors | PitchBook

Generation Genius

Standards-based K-8 science videos, reading material, quiz games, simple DIY activities, exit ticket questions, and more.

After selecting a video, click on "Generate Student Link." This will give students a direct link to the video without needing an account.

Click here for username and password. Feel free to share the username and password on your Google Classroom.

https://www.generationgenius.com/

Kids Discover Online

Over 2000 nonfiction articles on a wide variety of social studies and science topics. Articles can be read at three different Lexile levels. A "read-to" feature, dictionary, and word translator are also included.  Visuals, interactives, quizzes, and teacher lesson plans are also included. 

Username and password: Click HERE

Does not integrate with Google Classroom, but can copy and paste the URL of an article into a new assignment in Google or Seesaw. Be sure to include the username and password above as students will likely need it unless they open the link from the library page first.

Teacher Resources: https://www.kidsdiscover.com/teacherresources/

Click on Lesson Plans, Infographics, or Quick Reads

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

or direct link

https://online.kidsdiscover.com/silverspring

 

Learn360

Streaming multimedia resource- access to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

Reading Activities located in the Games/Activities widget. Audiobooks are located in the Audio widget.

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

For Seesaw, click Share, Embed/Link, Copy link. Paste the link into your assignment in Seesaw. Include the username and password below just in case.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

BrainPop

Over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.

How to Integrate BrainPop and Google Classroom  (1:30)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

SIRS Discoverer

A multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources. The collection includes vetted educational websites.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Teachers can save articles to Google Classroom to create assignments. Click Save to Cloud, then Google Classroom.

For Seesaw, click Save to Cloud, then select Google Drive. Share the link from Google Drive, being sure to set the share settings to "anyone with link can open."

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

World Book Online 

An online encyclopedia database that contains thousands of informational articles with illustrations, videos, interactive maps, research help, and activities. Articles have a "read to" feature and can be translated into several different languages.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Also integrates with Google Classroom for teachers. Within each article, click on the settings wheel at the top, then click Share, Google Classroom. 

For Seesaw, within an article, click on the settings wheel at the top, then select Save, Google Drive. From your Google Drive account, share the link on Seesaw, being sure to adjust share settings to "anyone with link can open."

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

FactCite

FactCite is a collection of six databases, including : FactCite 123 (lower level articles on a variety of topics), Biography for Beginners, World Mythology, American History, Science and Technology, and Countries & Cultures. All of the databases can be searched by keyword, or browsed by topic or alphabetical order. Audio read-to is available for all articles.

Integrates with Google Classroom for teachers. Within any article, click on the Google Classroom icon.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

TrueFlix

The TrueFlix database contains science and social studies content, including dynamic videos, interactive ebooks, and engaging projects ideas and activities! E-books have a "read to" feature.

Integrates with Google Classroom, but username and password will likely be needed and should be included in the assignment directions.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

Sora - eBooks and audiobooks

Can be used via an app with your phone/tablet OR you can read or listen right on your Chromebook. Students have access to thousands of eBooks and audiobooks.

Access with your school Google account.

Click on the Google Waffle. Scroll down to Sora App.

Video Directions

 

MATH LINKS TO EXTEND LEARNING

Middle Grade Math through AP Courses


    Virtual Nerd

Video lessons - Middle Grades Math through Algebra 2


  GeoGebra

Tools for Graphing, Geometry, and 3D


Graphing calculator, Scientific calculator and Geometry tool


  • Algebra
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Calculus and Analysis
  • Discrete Mathematics
  • Foundations of Mathematics
  • Geometry
Resource Description Location
Generation Genius Company Profile: Valuation & Investors | PitchBook

Generation Genius

Standards-based K-8 science videos, reading material, quiz games, simple DIY activities, exit ticket questions, and more.

After selecting a video, click on "Generate Student Link." This will give students a direct link to the video without needing an account.

Click here for username and password. Feel free to share the username and password on your Google Classroom.

https://www.generationgenius.com/

Kids Discover Online

Over 2000 nonfiction articles on a wide variety of social studies and science topics. Articles can be read at three different Lexile levels. A "read-to" feature, dictionary, and word translator are also included.  Visuals, interactives, quizzes, and teacher lesson plans are also included. 

Username and password: Click HERE

Does not integrate with Google Classroom, but can copy and paste the URL of an article into a new assignment in Google or Seesaw. Be sure to include the username and password above as students will likely need it unless they open the link from the library page first.

Teacher Resources: https://www.kidsdiscover.com/teacherresources/

Click on Lesson Plans, Infographics, or Quick Reads

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

or direct link

https://online.kidsdiscover.com/silverspring

 

Learn360

Streaming multimedia resource- access to videos, audiobooks, learning games and activities.

Reading Activities located in the Games/Activities widget. Audiobooks are located in the Audio widget.

How to Integrate Learn360 into Google Classroom  (3:27)

For Seesaw, click Share, Embed/Link, Copy link. Paste the link into your assignment in Seesaw. Include the username and password below just in case.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

BrainPop

Over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.

How to Integrate BrainPop and Google Classroom  (1:30)

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

SIRS Discoverer

A multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources. The collection includes vetted educational websites.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Teachers can save articles to Google Classroom to create assignments. Click Save to Cloud, then Google Classroom.

For Seesaw, click Save to Cloud, then select Google Drive. Share the link from Google Drive, being sure to set the share settings to "anyone with link can open."

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

World Book Online 

An online encyclopedia database that contains thousands of informational articles with illustrations, videos, interactive maps, research help, and activities. Articles have a "read to" feature and can be translated into several different languages.

Linked to student's Google Drive account to save articles and citations.

Also integrates with Google Classroom for teachers. Within each article, click on the settings wheel at the top, then click Share, Google Classroom. 

For Seesaw, within an article, click on the settings wheel at the top, then select Save, Google Drive. From your Google Drive account, share the link on Seesaw, being sure to adjust share settings to "anyone with link can open."

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

FactCite

FactCite is a collection of six databases, including : FactCite 123 (lower level articles on a variety of topics), Biography for Beginners, World Mythology, American History, Science and Technology, and Countries & Cultures. All of the databases can be searched by keyword, or browsed by topic or alphabetical order. Audio read-to is available for all articles.

Integrates with Google Classroom for teachers. Within any article, click on the Google Classroom icon.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

TrueFlix

The TrueFlix database contains science and social studies content, including dynamic videos, interactive ebooks, and engaging projects ideas and activities! E-books have a "read to" feature.

Integrates with Google Classroom, but username and password will likely be needed.

Username and password: Click HERE

 

 

SSIS Databases Tab

Sora - eBooks and audiobooks

Can be used via an app with your phone/tablet OR you can read or listen right on your Chromebook. Students have access to thousands of eBooks and audiobooks.

Access with your school Google account.

Click on the Google Waffle. Scroll down to Sora App.

Video Directions

 

Free Resources

 

undefined Free access to magazine, newspapaer, and scholarly articles, as well as videos, images, and music.

Username: Sussex-Hamilton School District     Password: hamilton

Click on Browse All Resources, then try the following databases:  Book Connections, Explora for Elementary Schools or Explora Educator's Edition, NoveList K-8, TeachingBooks.net, Climate Wisconsin, and more.